Testing and Vaccination

What You Need to Know About COVID-19 Testing:

Federal legislation including the Families First Coronavirus Response Act and the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act included provisions to increase the accessibility of testing and invest in a nation-wide COVID-19 testing strategy. 

Elimination of out-of-pocket costs for COVID-19 tests:

How you can get tested for COVID-19:

  • Riverside University Health System
  • Eisenhower Health
    • Call the Eisenhower Health Hotline at (760) 837-8988 to discuss any symptom concerns before presenting at any facility.
      • The line is staffed 24 hours a day by registered nurses. 
  • Desert Aids Project (DAP)
    • Call the DAP COVID-19 Hotline at (760) 992-0407. If the DAP clinician screening you determines you need testing, you will be instructed to come in. 
  • Local Rite Aid Pharmacies
    • ​Find out where you can get tested for COVID-19 at a local Rite Aid Pharmacy near you by clicking
  • You can also find more about COVID-19 testing in the State of California here

Frequently Asked Questions about Testing:

How do I know if I should be tested for COVID-19?

  • People who have symptoms of COVID-19.
  • People who have had close contact (within 6 feet for a total of 15 minutes or more) with someone with confirmed COVID-19.
  • People who have taken part in activities that put them at higher risk for COVID-19 because they cannot socially distance as needed, such as travel, attending large social or mass gatherings, or being in crowded indoor settings.
  • People who have been asked or referred to get testing by their healthcare provider or state health department

Am I considered part of a priority group to get tested for COVID-19? 

  • As of now, all COVID-19 tests in the State of California will have equal priority. Learn more here.  

What You Need to Know About COVID-19 Vaccines:

Federal legislation including the most recently enacted American Rescue Plan has invested billions of dollars in COVID-19 vaccine research, development, and distribution. After a thorough review process, the Food and Drug Administration has approved two COVID-19 vaccines and their distribution has begun.

  • The safety of COVID-19 vaccines is a top priority. Learn more about the safety of COVID-19 vaccines, clinical trials, and safety monitoring here
  • To learn more about vaccine development in the United States, click here

How can I receive a COVID-19 vaccine? 

The State of California and providers are administering COVID-19 vaccines as it becomes available.  Supplies will be initially be limited, and COVID-19 vaccines are currently available only for healthcare workers and residents in long-term care settings due to limited supplies. The first phase of vaccine administration is as follows:

Phase 1A

  • Healthcare workers
  • Long-term care residents

Phase 1B

  • 1B Tier One:
    • Individuals 75 and older
    • Those at risk of exposure at work in the following sectors: education, childcare, emergency services, and food and agriculture
  • 1B Tier Two:
    • Individuals 65 -74 years of age
    • Those at risk of exposure at work in the following sectors: transportation and logistics; industrial, commercial, residential, and sheltering facilities and services; critical manufacturing
    • Congregate settings with outbreak risk: incarcerated and homeless

Phase 1C

  • Individuals 50 -64 years of age
    • People 16-64 years of age and have an underlying health condition or disability which increases their risk of severe COVID-19
    • Those at risk of exposure at work in the following sectors: water and wastewater; defense; energy; chemical and hazardous materials; communications and IT; financial services; government operations / community-based essential functions

 Learn more about COVID-19 vaccination priorities here